Local Nature Reserves

LNRs are sites that are both important for both people and wildlife. They contain natural features that are important within a local context. They provide opportunities for environmental education and research and the enjoyment of nature by local communities.

LNRs are declared by Local authorities under the National Parks and Access to the Countryside Act 1949.

There are currently twelve Local Nature Reserves in the City. They are:

1. Hogganfield Park LNR

2. Cardowan Moss LNR

3. Dawsholm Park LNR

4. Robroyston Park LNR

5. Garscadden Wood LNR

6. Bishop Loch LNR

7. Commonhead Moss LNR

8. Linn Park LNR

9. Cathkin Braes LNR

10. Dams to Darnley LNR

11. Malls Mire LNR

12. Hamiltonhill Claypits LNR


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s